NSV – It’s the Little Things

Terri commented on my post from yesterday that I needed to stop focusing so much on the number on the scale and celebrate the OTHER good things coming out of this new way of life.

I thought about that a LOT.

You know what?  She’s totally, completely right.  I wasn’t sure what to call these little “Win’s” and after MUCH lurking on weight loss boards I found a term that is already being used for such things.  I had heard of it before and I’ve used the acronym before, but I had totally forgotten about it over time.  It’s meaning and it’s purpose are pretty clear once you know what it stands for.

NSV- Non-Scale Victories

Isn’t that fantastic?  Non-scale. Victories.

Now that I had a term for it I needed to figure out what an NSV for ME could be.  (I’m alone A LOT.  I think about stuff… A LOT.  Don’t judge. 😛 )  The more I thought, the more I struggled until I came to the conclusion that anything that indicated improvement in my general health and size worked. I tend to be a “Big Picture” kind of girl.  It’s just how I’m wired.  When you’re trying to lose 200+ pounds the “Big Picture” can bit a bit… daunting.  I need to celebrate the little things, the everyday things.

Of course, that leads me to a whole OTHER chain of thought.

How do I recognize an NSV?  Hmmmm…  I’ve landed on this.  NSV’s are little things that happen during my day that excite me and charge me up about getting healthier and losing weight.  Pretty simple and straight forward.

Then I realized I’d had not one but TWO, 2 Ah-ah-ah!*!, NSV’s in as many days.

Yesterday, we went to SUBWAY for dinner.  I’m slightly addicted to their Turkey, Bacon and Avocado subs right now.  Usually by the time we get through the line and out the door my lower back is KILLING me.  I have to lean on things to remain standing.  (This also gives you some idea of JUST how out of shape I am.)  It hit me as we were walking to the car.  I HADN’T HAD TO LEAN ON ANYTHING AND MY BACK WASN’T HURTING!!!!  I was SO excited.  It was total evidence of the exercise working.

This evening I had the second NSV.  I have to sit to do most things.  I can’t stand long enough to chop an onion or cut up a couple of potatoes or even shred cheese on the grater.  I’m THAT kind of out of shape.  Tonight I diced up 3 potatoes, 1 sweet potato, seasoned em, prepared the baking dishes, and shredded the cheese for The Husband’s regular potatoes WITHOUT SITTING DOWN AT ALL.  That’s not to say that my back wasn’t bothering me, because it totally was.  However, I managed it!

They’re such small things that most people take for granted.  When I started all this 5 weeks ago I couldn’t have done either of them.  *Does Happy Snoopy Dance*

 

 

***Yes… That was The Count from Sesame Street.  😛

 

 

Comments are closed.