Weigh Day! Weigh Day! Houston, We Have A…

I’m trying not to be obsessive and weigh daily, so I’ve made Weds. my “Weigh Day”.  I woke up early today.  I was a bit anxious and nervous.  It was a lot like a first date with a person you really kinda dig, but are afraid to trust your judgement on.  I had butterflies in my stomach.  My palms were sweaty.  The heart… she was racing.

I got all “Done up” for my date with the scale.  (HONESTLY, the only 2nd date I’ve EVER gone to as unclothed as possible.  I PROMISE MOM!) I felt shy and unsure of myself.  As I looked in the mirror I THOUGHT I could see a difference in my face, maybe I was just seeing the promise of the hope and excitement I was feeling, maybe it’s actual visible proof.  Really, I didn’t care which.  I FELT better having noticed it so I stepped on the scale, a little lighter in my heart and step.

The numbers did their thing and my jaw dropped.  That CAN’T be right!

I stepped on again and… the same result!

7 pounds?  7-Mother-Frelling-Pounds!!!?!?!?!?!?  No. Way!

I have to admit, I cried a bit.  It’s silly to get so emotional over a number, but that damn number has done NOTHING but go up over my lifetime and it makes me more than a little crazy.  I don’t really handle this stuff well.

I calmed down.  Wiped my face.  Blew my nose.

I got back into bed with The Husband and curled up to him.  He snuggled into me and asked where I’d gone.  I sighed, just a little, and told him I’d weighed.  We were quiet for a bit and he drifted off to sleep again for a moment.  When he surfaced again he simply asked, “Well?”

I wasn’t sure how to tell him.  Finally, I just blurted it out…

“7 Goddamned Pounds.”  He frowned and looked a bit confused.  Then I giggled helplessly…

“I LOST 7 more lbs. this week!!!!  That’s 20 lbs down in a month!”

I was grinning like an idiot.  He slugged me gently for being a brat then hugged me and congratulated me on my progress.

SUCCESS!

10 responses to “Weigh Day! Weigh Day! Houston, We Have A…

      • aww well I am glad to hear that! I know I feel so, so much better. Every day I notice something that is easier or that I could not do 4 months ago and it really fuels those days when lugging my ass down to Coach Kozack (hah) and his 10 min aerobics that much easier. I saw your post about the DVD you found! That is so awesome and SO important. I really had no desire to use the gym and weights but I realize now that without them, I never would have come as far as I have.

  1. Oh honey — so very delighted for you. The long lifetime haul is so much harder, but in the end, so much more rewarding. I’m deeply glad to see you taking good care of yourself. Much love from Chicago! mA

    • Thanks mA!! 😀 You and Michael did it and I remind myself of how well you two did and how much work you put into it when I feel my resolve flagging! It’s good to have friends that are able to motivate 😀 Love you guys!

  2. That’s awesome! I’d recommend adding a picture to Weigh Day, just so you can see your progress over time. You don’t have to do that like you up for your date, but the proof in the pictures will make you feel good as well. 🙂 GREAT JOB!!

    • Hmmmm I may have The Husband take one tonight and then do one once a month or something. It WOULD be a good motivator. GOD though… I so hate having pictures of myself… lol. Thanks for the suggestions QP!

  3. Yay! You rock. That’s an awesome accomplishment. I’m very happy for you too. Congratulations!!!! Keep up the good work.

    I like the idea of doing pictures throughout process. The then and now stuff. You better get to liking getting your picture taken because our little ones don’t care what we look like and will want them when they are older. Plus no matter how we look the camera is a good tool for us to focus on what is important to us. If yours is weight then seeing the pictures could help the process along.

    Again congratulations on the weight loss. I’m jumping for joy for you. 😀

    • Thank you! I feel kind of silly crowing about losing 20 lbs., as so many people have done and will do the same and SO much more. It’s a real accomplishment for ME though. There’s lots more to come… or… go… as the case may be. Heh!

      • Yes. Don’t forget that your accomplishments are not relative to the world, they are relative to yourself. You better not EVER forget that.