Binding On in a New Way

I know I’ve been silent for a lil while on here, but  I’ve been BUSY, Yo!

With my new outlook and mindset has come something, unexpected.  Wonderful, but not something anyone wants to hear about day in and day out.  Unfortunately, it’s kind of consuming my every thought and moment.  I’ve been making a concerted effort on getting my health back on track, and I’m really loving every second of it.

I’m exercising almost every day.

You have NO idea how huge that is for me.  I WANT to exercise.  I still suck as far as endurance goes.   I can only go for a few moments at a time.  Then I have to stop for a few.  Previously, I’d get to that stopping point and just… Stop.  (That’s IF I GOT STARTED AT ALL!)  Now, I press on until I’ve done 25 minutes of exercise.  Sure, it may take me 45 minutes to get it done, but BY GOD I’m DOING it.  Eventually, it’ll only take me 25 minutes, or it’ll still take 45 minutes, but that’s because I’m exercising the whole 45 minutes!

I’m drinking two Herbalife shakes a day.  One for breakfast and one for supper.  I’m supplementing with fresh fruit and veggie snacks like cucumber, tomato and avocado salad, cantaloupe and watermelon!  (I love this time of year!) Lunch is all about FOOD!  This week I’ve had hamburger patties topped with a slice of cheese and a fried egg (fried in non-stick pan with a lil spray oil).  No Bread.  No condiments.  SO YUMMEH!  I’ve also been experimenting with Lean Cuisine and other low cal frozen dinners.  If you’re interested I could start reviewing them here.  So far they are kinda hit and miss.  Whatever I have for lunch though, I have a nice fresh bowl of veggies, no dressing.  Just salt and pepper.  It helps fill me up and keep me full!

OH!  Speaking of bread, I have cut it out of my diet!  Almost 3 weeks now of no bread!  Really, most starchy things are gone.  I’m LOVING how it’s making me feel, but OMG… my blood sugars are crashing through the floor.  I have crashed almost daily since I’ve started this healthier eating and it’s wearing me out!  I’m decreasing my short acting insulin every day, but I still haven’t hit upon the right amount for my decreased/healthier eating and increased physical activity.  I’m thinking of putting potatoes back into rotation and maybe sweet potatoes.  I can fix them in different ways and it would keep me from crashing quite so much.

The one thing I DO miss is crunchy stuff.  Especially the last few days.  PMS IS TRYING TO ASSASSINATE MY PLAN!!!!  DAMN YOU HORMONES!!!!  Salty, sweet and crunchy is what I’ve been craving.  I have devised a not so horrible for me snack mix that seems to be keeping that in check though.  It’s four different kinds of Cheerio’s, Cracklin Oat Bran, dry roasted peanuts and mini chocolate chips.  I eat 1/4 to 1/2 a cup.  It’s high in fiber, has a lil protein, a lil chocolate, a lil salt and is decent calorie wise.  It’s got some short and long burning carbs and some fat so it helps my evening blood sugars stay level.  One-half cup of it clocks in at about 100 calories and is plenty to keep me feeling satisfied.

Anyone wanna do this with me?  (Obviously, you’d do it with your own preferred eating and exercise regime.  🙂 )  We can support each other and motivate each other and kick each other in the ass when we need it!

Unfortunately, I haven’t been knitting much with all of this going on.  I’m HOPING to get back to it VERY soon though.  I have a hat to finish for my SIL and Christmas Knitting to get started on!!!!  (Also, EVERY WOMAN I KNOW THAT IS FERTILE IS PREGNANT.  W. T. F. ?  LITERALLY! HAH!)

I’m open to suggestions and questions about all this stuff, by the way.  Email or comment away!

8 responses to “Binding On in a New Way

  1. Congrats on taking steps toward better health! I’m right there with you. I just started with a personal trainer this week, and she’s encouraging me to change my eating (which clearly needed changing), and adopt a more balanced, whole food approach that focuses on foods low on the Glycemic Index. So far so good, and very little hunger! I look forward to hearing your updates, and feel free to PM me on Plurk or whatever if you need/want support. (It’s me…dulcinea915!)

    • I THOUGHT that was you when you mentioned the trainer! I hope, eventually, to be able to go that route. My mobility and my ability to exercise are sorely compromised by my size at this point. Trainers might end up killing me! LOL You can PP me anytime too!

      • I will say that a good trainer can work with you on any limitations you have. But if you’re good at motivating yourself and you can get yourself to work out, then that’s awesome! I personally really need the accountability and motivation that a trainer gives right now…at least till I’m back on track. (I had lost 40 lbs, but then an injury combined with a comfy relationship derailed me and over the last couple years I’ve gained it all back.)

      • I have TOTAL faith that you can do it! Comfy relationships are GREAT, but they sure can play hell with motivation to move about and be conscious of what/how/how much we’re eating! You know anytime you need a boot in the butt or just to commiserate all you have to do is holler! *Hugs*

  2. You rock for getting started on the qorking out and eating healthy. I love hearing the motivation in your virtual “voice”. I don’t really have any suggestions for weight loss, although I am a Weight Watchers person. I struggled for many years and it worked for me. I loved the plan because it allowed me to eat what I wanted, just in portions that I should have been eating in anyway. Exercise was the key for the big losses. I loved water aerobics and walking….oh and ZUMBA. Once I have this baby I’m going to be on it again and would love to join you in the let’s get healthy bit. Until then I’ll support you and give encouragement when you need it.

    • I did WW a few years ago. It’s how I lost 100 lbs. over 2 years. I had to do their core program though. Points didn’t cut it for the weight I was at and the amount of physical activity I could do. It was WAY too much food! What I’m doing now is really a modified core program!

      • 100!?!?!? That’s amazing. That is awesome. I am glad I did it when I did. I lost about 50 pounds. And people say it doesn’t work, but I do understand that it isn’t for everyone, but it worked wonders for me. I’m not disciplined enough to come up with my own program. Great Job!

      • Unfortunately, I managed to gain just about all of it back over the last 3 years. Blargh. That’s what uncontrolled depression and anxiety do for me though. I eat. BY GOD I’VE GOT IT WHIPPED NOW THOUGH. Celexa/Citalopram has got those two under control and I’m on my way…