TV – It Sits More Than Your Baby…

I love to watch TV.  I love to watch really GOOD TV or REALLY BAD TV.  Unfortunately, I watch entirely too much TV.  I need to fix this.

I don’t watch a lot in the evenings.  Oh no.  I DVR everything I want to see and watch it when The Tween and The Husband aren’t home.  This allows me to do stuff with them… like watch shows on Netflix! (That noise you hear?  It’s my head… banging on the table.  Just ignore it.  It should stop soon…)

I’ve always enjoyed watching “Stuff”.  Reality shows like Survivor, The Amazing Race, The Voice, American Idol, RuPaul’s Drag Race  (DON’T JUDGE ME!  It’s a fabulous train wreck of a show and SO MUCH FUN!), The Bachelor/ette (see previous parenthetical comment 😛 ).  However, I have a few scripted shows that are MUST SEE. (CASTLE!!! Though, really?  The current arc is pissing me off pretty well.  They’re ADULTS not middle schoolers.  How about writing the course of their relationship THAT way Marlowe?  Geeze!!! *Ahem*)

Why then, you may ask, do I watch so much television?  It’s a great question and one I’ve been asking myself lately.  During the day, I need the noise.  When you’re alone in your home 8-9 hours a day, 5 days a week, it gets very, very quiet.  Don’t get me wrong!  That is LOVELY, but only for a while.  After a time it becomes eerie and creepy and annoying.  So I turn to television to keep me company.

It really wouldn’t be a big issue if I was able to just have it on in the background and go about my business.  In fact, it would be pretty harmless and a damn good way to break the silence.  Unfortunately, I suck at just letting it be background noise.  I tend to give it my attention and it encourages my sedentary ways.  I NEED to fix this.

We have a treadmill and I SHOULD be walking on it.  Granted, I wouldn’t be able to do it for any length of time at first, but I COULD do it several times a day in short bursts until my stamina grows and my core muscles get stronger.  I don’t though.  It’s quiet in there.  It’s boring to walk alone. Whine, whine, whine… God.  I annoy myself sometimes.

In the past, I’ve made attempts at walking during the day.  I do it once.  Sometimes twice.  Once in a great while, I even make it a week.  Then, I stop.  Either I’m too sore, too tired or just stop giving a rats ass.  It’s always SOMETHING.  There’s always some excuse.

I am my own worst enemy.

So, here’s my plan.  We have an extra TV.  I need to move it into the room with the treadmill and move a cable box in there.  That way I can have the TV on while I walk.  It’ll stop the silence and help fight the boredom.  EXCUSES, BE GONE!  I’ll bring my cell phone with me and keep it close.  If I fall, which is entirely possible, I have a way to call for help.  EXCUSES, BE GONE!  I’ll only allow myself to knit in proportion to how many times I walk each day.  MOTIVATION, HERE YA GO!

Knitting, it’s the key.

K1, P2, K2TOG… Decrease, decrease, decrease!

5 responses to “TV – It Sits More Than Your Baby…

  1. I used to have my TV on 24/7, seriously. lol. I’d read, do stuff on the computer, whatever, but it was always there, in the background; soft noise killing the otherwise dead quiet, something to see when glancing away from whatever else I was doing, plus all the fabulous crime shows to focus on fully! hahaha. Now, I have no TV. We have a sitcom playing while dinner is cooking (or sometimes Mythbusters/Dirty Jobs), and watch an ep of House/Castle/NCIS/etc while we eat, and watch an ep of a sitcom before going to sleep. 😛

  2. When I was first laid off, I watched A LOT of TV. Then I got to the point where I didn’t want to watch as much. What helped me get off the couch was Eberle. Take MeiMei for a walk! Even if you just go around the block at first and it builds up to more than that. She will be so happy and that happiness is contagious! Anyway, just an idea to help.

    Also, I’m really starting to believe that we were twins separated at birth! ❤

    • Hah! It’s funny. We spend so much time feeling like NO ONE ELSE could possibly understand what we’re going through, and then we meet someone who’s been through similar or the same things. We could probably learn a lot from each other!